System of Government

The City of Cedar Key has a Mayor/Commission system type of municipal government. There are five locally elected commissioners, seats 1-5. Each seat serves a two-year term and is alternately voted into office via a yearly public election. The Mayor and City Department heads are selected by the Commission each year to serve as City Administrators.  The Police Chief, Fire Chief, City Clerk serve yearly at the will of the Commission. The City Attorney is employed annually by the City of Cedar Key.